Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Other Valley (Hardcover)

The Other Valley (Hardcover)

Regular price 80.00 NIS
Regular price 75.00 NIS Sale price 80.00 NIS
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.

For fans of Never Let Me Go and The Giver, an elegant and exhilarating literary speculative novel about an isolated town neighbored by its own past and future, and a young girl who spots two elderly visitors from across the border: the grieving parents of the boy she loves.

Sixteen-year-old Odile is an awkward, quiet girl vying for a coveted seat on the Conseil. If she earns the position, she’ll decide who may cross her town’s heavily guarded borders. On the other side, it’s the same valley, the same town. Except to the east, the town is twenty years ahead in time. To the west, it’s twenty years behind. The towns repeat in an endless sequence across the wilderness.

When Odile recognizes two visitors she wasn’t supposed to see, she realizes that the parents of her friend Edme have been escorted across the border from the future, on a mourning tour, to view their son while he’s still alive in Odile’s present.

Edme—who is brilliant, funny, and the only person to truly see Odile—is about to die. Sworn to secrecy in order to preserve the timeline, Odile now becomes the Conseil’s top candidate. Yet she finds herself drawing closer to the doomed boy, imperiling her entire future.

A breathlessly moving “unique take on the intersection of fate and free will” (Nikki Erlick, author of
The Measure), The Other Valley is “a stellar debut, full of heartbreak and hope wrapped up in gorgeous prose” (Christina Dalcher, author of Vox).

View full details
  • Shipping

    Books and other products purchased online are available for pick up at Everyday Carry Books. Purchases of more than 250 NIS are eligible for free delivery in the following Jerusalem neighborhoods: Abu Tor, Arnona, Baka, German Colony, Katamon, Rehavia and Talpiot. Contact info@everydaycarrybooks.com for more information.

  • Returns

    Use link to read return policy