Skip to product information
1 of 1

Annie John

Annie John

Regular price 40.00 NIS
Regular price Sale price 40.00 NIS
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Condition
Annie John is a haunting and provocative story of a young girl growing up on the island of Antigua. A classic coming-of-age story in the tradition of The Catcher in the Rye and A Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man, Kincaid’s novel focuses on a universal, tragic, and often comic theme: the loss of childhood. Annie’s voice—urgent, demanding to be heard—is one that will not soon be forgotten by readers.An adored only child, Annie has until recently lived an idyllic life. She is inseparable from her beautiful mother, a powerful presence, who is the very center of the little girl’s existence. Loved and cherished, Annie grows and thrives within her mother’s benign shadow. Looking back on her childhood, she reflects, “It was in such a paradise that I lived.” When she turns twelve, however, Annie’s life changes, in ways that are often mysterious to her. She begins to question the cultural assumptions of her island world; at school she instinctively rebels against authority; and most frighteningly, her mother, seeing Annie as a “young lady,” ceases to be the source of comfort and security.
View full details
  • Shipping

    Books and other products purchased online are available for pick up at Everyday Carry Books. Purchases of more than 250 NIS are eligible for free delivery in the following Jerusalem neighborhoods: Abu Tor, Arnona, Baka, German Colony, Katamon, Rehavia and Talpiot. Contact info@everydaycarrybooks.com for more information.

  • Returns

    Use link to read return policy