Skip to product information
1 of 1

Pachinko

Pachinko

Regular price 70.00 NIS
Regular price Sale price 70.00 NIS
Sale Sold out
Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
A new tour de force from the bestselling author of Free Food for Millionaires, for readers of A Fine Balance and Cutting for Stone. Profoundly moving and gracefully told, PACHINKO follows one Korean family through the generations, beginning in early 1900s Korea with Sunja, the prized daughter of a poor yet proud family, whose unplanned pregnancy threatens to shame them. Betrayed by her wealthy lover, Sunja finds unexpected salvation when a young tubercular minister offers to marry her and bring her to Japan to start a new life. So begins a sweeping saga of exceptional people in exile from a homeland they never knew and caught in the indifferent arc of history. In Japan, Sunja's family members endure harsh discrimination, catastrophes, and poverty, yet they also encounter great joy as they pursue their passions and rise to meet the challenges this new home presents. Through desperate struggles and hard-won triumphs, they are bound together by deep roots as their family faces enduring questions of faith, family, and identity.
View full details
  • Shipping

    Books and other products purchased online are available for pick up at Everyday Carry Books. Purchases of more than 250 NIS are eligible for free delivery in the following Jerusalem neighborhoods: Abu Tor, Arnona, Baka, German Colony, Katamon, Rehavia and Talpiot. Contact info@everydaycarrybooks.com for more information.

  • Returns

    Use link to read return policy